[arin-discuss] Question about legacy IPv4 and RADB

Scott Leibrand scottleibrand at gmail.com
Thu May 3 14:12:42 EDT 2012

As I understand it, any paying RADB customer can register route objects for
any route they like, as long as no one else has already done so.  So I
don't think RADB tells you much about the proper holder of a block whose
original registrant is now defunct.

Probably the best thing for organization FOO to do would be to contact ARIN
and arrange to update ARIN's records.  That may require documenting their
chain of custody of  X.X.0.0/16 from AAA.  It sounds like they've already
done so with the Tech POC, so if it was a legitimate transfer they
shouldn't have too much trouble demonstrating that to ARIN and getting all
the records updated (and preferably getting the block transferred over to


On Thu, May 3, 2012 at 10:33 AM, John Von Essen <john at quonix.net> wrote:

> Not sure if this is the right forum, but something came up with a
> potential new BGP customer regarding a legacy IP block (1993, pre-Arin)
> they want to advertise. This new customer is planning to buy internet from
> us, a 100MB pipe.
> Whenever a customer is advertising a subnet that is not directly issued to
> them via Arin, we have a process to verify authority before we allow that
> block to propagate out to our BGP upstreams.
> Since I dont want to get in trouble with the client, the info here is
> fictitious but represents the situation we need help with. Names/IPs have
> been replaced.
> Here is the situation:
> 1. The IP block (say X.X.0.0/16) our new BGP customer wants to advertise
> is a 1993 IP block, pre-Arin, it is in the Arin whois database, as well as
> RA DB.
> 2. The OrgID (say AAA) for X.X.0.0/16 is defunct, does not exist at all
> anymore.
> 3. There are 4 POCs listed for OrgID AAA, 3 of which are defunct and even
> labeled as bad within Arin whois, the 4th (Tech POC) is valid, and the
> email address for this POC is completely unrelated to OrgID AAA. This "4th
> POC" is clearly not associated with OrgID AAA, but another Organization
> will call FOO.
> At first glance, when I look at this, I think its a legacy hijacked IP
> range. Somebody got a hold of the 4th POC in some way and changed it. We DO
> NOT work with people remotely connected to hijacked IP space, in fact, we
> use the SpamHaus DROP list and wont route any of those suspicious IP
> ranges. This range is not in SpamHaus's DROP list.
> Problem is I am not entirely certain if my assumption is correct because
> Merits RA DB shows a different story. If I lookup X.X.0.0/16 in Merit's RA
> DB, the resource looks 100% legit.  You dont see any mention of OrgID AAA,
> no bad POCs, everything in Merit's DB is related to Org FOO.
> Now, our upstreams all use different mechanisms to verify who has the
> right to announce certain blocks. Level3 for example uses RA DB, so in
> Level3's eye's there is nothing wrong here. But if Cogent uses Arin's whois
> database, then Cogent might refuse it because it cant be verified or if it
> is verified its very suspect.
> I dont know what to do here.... All of our other BGP customers have been
> easy since they all use post-Arin IP space which is very easy to verify,
> this is the first time we've had a customer try to announce "old" space.
> Any input would be appreciated.
> Thanks
> John Von Essen
> ______________________________**_________________
> ARIN-Discuss
> You are receiving this message because you are subscribed to
> the ARIN Discussion Mailing List (ARIN-discuss at arin.net).
> Unsubscribe or manage your mailing list subscription at:
> http://lists.arin.net/mailman/**listinfo/arin-discuss<http://lists.arin.net/mailman/listinfo/arin-discuss>
> Please contact info at arin.net if you experience any issues.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.arin.net/pipermail/arin-discuss/attachments/20120503/4d1007f4/attachment.html>

More information about the ARIN-discuss mailing list