[arin-announce] ARIN Announces Initial Slate of Candidates for 2016 ARIN Elections; Petition Period Now Open

ARIN info at arin.net
Thu Sep 15 13:15:15 EDT 2016

Elections for two seats on the ARIN Board of Trustees and six seats on 
the ARIN Advisory Council (AC) will be held online 20-28 October 2016. 
New ARIN Trustee and AC terms will begin 1 January 2017.

ARIN Trustees Vint Cerf and Bill Sandiford and AC members Cathy Aronson, 
Owen Delong, Scott Leibrand, Tina Morris, and Dr. Milton Mueller will 
conclude their current three-year terms on 31 December 2016. 
Additionally, a one-year term on the AC became available following the 
recent resignation of AC member Kevin Blumberg when he accepted an 
appointment to the Number Resource Organization Number Council (NRO 
NC).  On behalf of the ARIN community, I’d like to again thank those who 
have served and their efforts over the years.

The Nomination Committee has put forth the following candidates who have 
agreed to run for terms starting 1 January 2017:

ARIN Trustees:

•    Patrick Gilmore, Markley Group
•    Merike Kaeo, Farsight Security, Inc.
•    Charlie Liu, Charter Communications
•    Bill Sandiford, Toronto Internet Exchange

Advisory Council:

•    Owen DeLong, Akamai
•    Gary T. Giesen, CentriLogic
•    Scott Leibrand, DLVR, Inc.
•    Isaac Levy, Black Sky Research
•    Rob McCann, Clearcable Networks
•    Alyssa Moore, Cybera Inc.
•    Tina Morris, Amazon
•    Joe Provo, Google
•    Allen Shen, Charter Communications
•    Alison Wood, State of Oregon
•    Chris Woodfield, Twitter

A compilation of candidate biographies and questionnaire responses is 
available in a PDF at:


Statements of Support for a candidate may be made at:


Please be aware that Statements of Support are held for moderation and 
will be posted, upon approval, within one business day.

At this time ARIN would also like to announce that the Call for 
Petitions is now open. Any individual, regardless of membership status, 
may be placed on the ballot for election to the ARIN Board of Trustees 
or Advisory Council if they successfully complete the ARIN petition 
process. (ARIN Bylaws, Article VIII, Section 2.b.)

Petition requests must be submitted by 22 September 2016. For a 
candidate to be placed on the ballot, a petition must obtain the support 
of at least 78 eligible Voting Contacts from General Members in Good 
Standing (2% of eligible voters as of 1 August 2016 when nominations 
opened) by 6 October. For details about the petition process, please visit:


If you are interested in submitting a petition to run for the ARIN Board 
of Trustees or Advisory Council, please send an email to 
members at arin.net with your full name, phone number, and organization 

ARIN will announce a final Slate of Candidates for the ARIN Board of 
Trustees and Advisory Council on 10 October.

Congratulations and good luck to this year’s candidates. ARIN gratefully 
acknowledges the time and commitment that elected candidates are willing 
to make towards ensuring the viability and growth of ARIN, the 
community, and the Internet. ARIN would also like to recognize and thank 
its member organizations, specifically organizations’ Voting Contacts, 
whose ballots are crucial for electing ARIN leadership that will help 
guide and shape the future!

For questions pertaining to the election process, please email the 
Member Services team at members at arin.net.


John Curran
President and CEO
American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN)

More information about the ARIN-announce mailing list