[arin-announce] Initial Slate of Candidates Announced for ARIN Board of Trustees and Advisory Council

Member Services info at arin.net
Thu Sep 11 09:22:07 EDT 2008

Elections for two (2) seats on the ARIN Board of Trustees and five (5)
seats on the ARIN Advisory Council will be held online 17-24 October.

The Board of Trustees has ultimate responsibility for the business
affairs and financial health of ARIN.  The Board is responsible for
determining the disposition of all revenues received to ensure that all
services are provided in an equitable manner. The Board votes on
proposals generated from the membership and submitted through the
Advisory Council.

The following candidates have agreed to run for office:

Board of Trustees:
* Timothy Denton, Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications
* Vikas Khanna, Covad Wireless
* Richard Swee, Simple IPTV
* Bill Woodcock, Packet Clearing House

The Advisory Council serves in an advisory capacity to the Board of
Trustees on IP allocation policy and related matters. The Advisory
Council forwards consensus-based policy proposals to the Board for

The following candidates have agreed to run for office:

Advisory Council:
* Dan Alexander, Comcast Cable
* Scott Beuker, Shaw Cablesystems
* Kent Claussen, CCS Technology Group LLC
* Marc Crandall, Google
* Bill Darte, Washington University
* David Farmer, University of Minnesota
* Rich Groves, Microsoft
* Christopher Grundermann, TW Telecom
* Michael Lambert, Pittsburg Supercomputer Center
* Matt Pounsett, Canadian Internet Registration Authority
* Alex Rubenstein, Net Access Corporation
* John Spence, Command Information
* John Sweeting, VSNL

Many of the candidates will address the membership at the 17 October
Members Meeting in Los Angeles. Be sure to watch the webcast if you are
not attending ARIN XXII.

Be sure to visit the ARIN Election Headquarters to read candidate
biographies and their responses to questions about currently debated
topics. In addition, this is where you can voice your support for
individual candidates:


Designated member representatives (DMRs) from ARIN’s General Members in
good standing (http://www.arin.net/membership/index.html#gmigs) will be
asked to vote for two (2) candidates in the Board election and five (5)
candidates in the Advisory Council election. ARIN Member Services
requires a name and personalized e-mail address be on record for the
DMR; role accounts are not acceptable. Voter eligibility must be
established at least 14 calendar days prior to the fourth quarter ARIN
Members Meeting. Organizations that are not in good standing or do not
have a valid DMR on file as of 3 October 2008 will not be eligible to
vote. Please e-mail Member Services at info at arin.net to ensure you have
a properly registered DMR. Contact billing at arin.net if you have any
questions about your organization’s billing status.

Congratulations and good luck to all of the candidates. ARIN appreciates
your willingness to take an active role in guiding the organization.

Warm regards,

Raymond A. Plzak
President and CEO
American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN)

More information about the ARIN-announce mailing list